King Lear Opening Night at the Barbican and another cast interview


edgar

It’s King Lear Opening Night at the Barbican tonight!

Have a great #RSCLear team!

Looking for some photos of the After Party, hopefully?


And let’s share another illuminating interview from a member the cast.

10 Questions for Actor David Troughton | reviews, news & interviews | The Arts Desk theartsdesk.com

Oliver Johnstone as Edgar/Poor Tom and David Troughton as Earl of Glouchester, photo by Ellie Kurttz/RSC
Oliver Johnstone as Edgar/Poor Tom and David Troughton as Earl of Glouchester, photo by Ellie Kurttz/RSC

I particularly find interesting this passage: “Did you work together with Paapa Essiedu (Edmund) and Oliver Johnstone (Edgar) on your family relationships?

We had lots of discussions and worked out little back stories. We thought about where the mother is, why Edmund was sent away and where, why he has come back. I think Gloucester was a bit of a rake, a reveller in his younger days. He doesn’t deal well with his sons: he’s horrible to Edmund, embarrassing him about his birth, and he doesn’t see that Edgar is going off the rails – he isn’t there, after all, at the court for the coming wedding. One of the problems for Edgar is, in the Dover scene; why doesn’t he say, “Dad. It’s me”? But, in the old-fashioned way, I think he’s trying to teach: a son teaching a father. It’s the wrong way round, but the world is the wrong way round. You could say it’s cruel, but may be he’s being cruel to be kind: a son is leading a father as Cordelia leads her father, youth taking over from the dying old guard.

I’m a servant, a member of the old guard. I’ve known him all my life, we were brought up together. I keep saying it’s my duty to help him whereas Kent keeps saying he loves him. I don’t agree with what Lear is doing, but I know my duty.

Leave a Reply

